NYCC’s Physical Event Moves to Youtube Only With Some Premium Rates

 

Continuing the trend of live fan events going virtual amid the coronavirus pandemic, New York Comic Con’s producer ReedPop announced on Tuesday that the annual fan convention is canceling its in-person event and partnering with YouTube to stream live panels from Oct. 8 to Oct. 11.

 

New York Comic Con’s physical event at Javits Center will not take place as intended in 2020, and that they are officially partnering with YouTube on an all-digital event that will bring the excitement, community, and incredible content expected from NYCC directly to fans around the world. 

 

From October 8-11, the New York Comic Con YouTube channel will exclusively live stream panels from leading entertainment brands. Starz will bring the epic American Gods, CBS All Access will feature the legendary Star Trek Universe, DreamWorks Animation will showcase the best of television animation, and Hulu & FX will add to the slate of exciting programming for fans worldwide. More news will be made in the coming weeks about content including premieres, announcements, fan contests and more.

 

 

“We are thoroughly disappointed that we can’t gather together, in-person for the New York Comic Con we love to build and our fans love to revel in. We look forward to this weekend all year long, just like you, and with this being our 15th edition, we were particularly excited. I will miss walking up and down artist alley and seeing friends that I’ve made since we were in the basement at the Javits Center,” said Lance Fensterman, President of ReedPop. “While this year will definitely be a different experience, we are going to look to bring the best and most engaging event to our fans, exhibitors, and studios through our partnership with YouTube.”

 

In addition to the panels streaming live & on-demand exclusively via YouTube, fans will be able to participate in talent Q&A’s during panels, turn every panel into a watch party and geek out with other fans using YouTube’s Community and Live Chat features. 

 

ReedPop will also give fans the opportunity for experiences that will get them up-close and personal with meet & greets, live Q&As, personalized autographs, videos, and professional workshops. And while fans won’t be able to stroll the Show Floor and Artist Alley aisles at Javits this year, ReedPop is creating a virtual marketplace for fans to explore where exhibitors and creators will share their newest items. There will be more information on these exciting fan developments unveiled in the coming weeks.

 

Leading up to New York Comic Con’s Metaverse in October, ReedPop will be hosting Metaverse August from August 13-16 and give fans the ability to assemble together for one-of-a-kind virtual experiences with celebrities and creators, discover new releases, explore a marketplace, and access exclusive merchandise.

 

Many of streaming and television’s biggest brands, including Hulu, Starz, FX, DreamWorks Animation and CBS All Access are still set to offer panels for fan favorites, like shows in the “Star Trek” franchise and “American Gods.” Other scheduled programming offered to those in attendance will be similar to the event’s typical in-person experience: fan contests, premieres and special announcements.

ReedPop also announced that fans can still virtually engage in meet and greets, workshops and videos. Personal autographs and a virtual marketplace will be available online as well. How about these prices for virtual meet & greets?

 

  • Join Karen Gillan (Amy Pond) and Arthur Darvill (Rory Williams ) and Matt Smith (the Eleventh Doctor), during their free panel on New York Comic Con’s YouTube channel. Just tune in on Saturday, August 15, 2020 at 11:40AM ET / 8:40AM PT / 4:40PM BST.
  • Karen Gillan (Amy Pond): Two minute meet and greet – Saturday, August 15 – 2:15PM EDT / 7:15PM BST $137.50
  • Karen Gillan (Amy Pond): Personalized recorded video message – emailed to you by August 31st $102.25
  • Arthur Darvill (Rory Williams): Two minute meet and greet – Saturday, August 15 – 1:00PM EDT / 6:00PM BST $137.50
  • Arthur Darvill (Rory Williams): Personalized recorded video message – emailed to you by August 31st  $102.25

 

Cosplayer Ani-Mia costs a little less three minutes for $40, five for $50 – that’s between 16 and 22 cents a minue.

  • Ani-Mia: Three minute meet and greet – Sunday, August 16 – 3:30PM ET / 8:30PM BST $40
  • Ani-Mia: Five minute meet and greet – Sunday, August 16 – 4:30PM ET / 9:30PM BST $50

 

New York Comic Con is the ultimate pop culture destination event in the United States. NYCC brings the best of comics, television, film, exhibitors, celebrities, cosplay, anime, and more to create memorable, uniquely exciting experiences for fans. These experiences transcend beyond the walls of the Javits Center and continue to live beyond the weekend of NYCC through the online world of ReedPOP digital content.

NYCC was originally scheduled to take place at Javits Center, but will now be hosted primarily on New York Comic Con‘s YouTube channel. Attendees will no longer be able to engage in panels face-to-face, but the YouTube Live Chat and Community features will help emulate the Comic Con experience and allow for audience-based Q&As.

 

 

via Variety

Chris Braly

Chris Braly

I'm a collector, a speculator, and one opinionated, based geek. My friends call me Braly, but those who know me within the hobby generally refer to me as Bralinator. I can be heard monthly on the Comic Book Page Previews Spotlight podcast with several other comic book nerds. Follow me on Twitter @ChrisBraly

JUST KEEPING THE LIGHTS ON